Bachelor Week 2 – Maps and Nick Hate

This was an especially crazy week for the Bachelor (and for the US). Corinne continued to be the perfect Bachelor villain or just very drunk, it’s too early to differentiate. We heard Liz repeat the same soundbite about her and Nick hooking up at Jade and Tanner’s wedding after every commercial break, and when Nick finally reveals the truth about their relationship on the group date we get hit with a “to be continued…”

Let’s see what people are talking about:

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 7.31.50 PM.png

Timeline notes provided by my dad. His complete detailed minute by minute notes are here.

  1. Nick enters I am confident as I have ever been to fall in love
  2. WEDDING PHOTO SHOOT
  3. Brittany IS half naked and she is freaking me out said Corinne
  4. Liz talking about her past with Nick — she has a knowing smile
  5. One of you did outstanding — Corinne you are the lucky winner
  6. A rose is on the table
  7. Danielle M Gets a date card for the first solo date — Liz is excited for her, but she thought it was going to be her
  8. Corinne said if you did not want to be interrupted then why are you here
  9. Corinne interrupts again
  10. Corinne is pissed — the way I go about things is very classy
  11. Corinne gets rose — Corinne this is very awkward, wow
  12. in a Helicopter one on one date with Nick and Danielle M
  13. Liz and Christen talking by the pool about things that will come out on the show
  14. Danielle M telling her history –5 years ago my fiance overdosed on drugs and I found him. I did not know he was an addict
  15. Kissing on the Ferris wheel — all the way around
  16. Everyone is going to be breaking up with nick as part of a symposium at the museum
  17. The end of a chapter for us, but a new beginning for you [Liz breakup speech]
  18. Liz and nick walk off the set to chat
  19. Nick — I don’t think we have a future — it is best if we just say goodby tonight

 

This week I wanted to look at location data. About 1% of the tweets I pulled had full location data, so to look at a bigger set I extracted state information from the user location description. Since the location description is freeform text I had to do some extra work to extract usable data. I made a dictionary of state names, abbreviations, and big unambiguous cities (no Springfields or Auburns) that mapped to each state. After this process I ended up with location data for a little over 50% of tweets. And then I made a ton of maps.

NOTE: This is not a random sample, if the other 50% of tweets had extractable locations it could completely change these maps. There are also not as many west coast tweeters in the time I collect tweets, so that influences the numbers.

Total Number of Tweets (Retweets Included)

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.20.28 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.20.39 PM.png

Number of Tweeters

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.21.17 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.21.23 PM.png

In the above two visualizations states in the south, particularly Alabama and South Carolina, have some of the most dramatic decreases from week 1 to week 2. These numbers could have been affected by the CFP National Championship that also aired at 8pm est, the two teams playing were Alabama and Clemson.

Number of Verified Tweeters

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.21.59 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.22.05 PM.png

 

Most Talked about Contestant 

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 8.02.54 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-15 at 8.01.20 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.23.14 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-15 at 9.23.19 PM.png

Contestants with prominent story lines were excluded from analysis.

 

I spent a lot of time last week looking at people were saying about the women, this week I wanted to look at what people are saying about Nick. Almost none of it was flattering. I’m still a fan of Nick, but for one reason or another (producers) he is making some questionable decisions.

Last week I used nGram to pull out popular phrases about the top women. This works well when everyone is saying similar things because it just uses frequency. People were saying a lot of different things about Nick, and I had some ideas about the topics, but I wasn’t quite sure where to start. With a term frequency method some of the smaller topics (still 300-500) tweets would have gotten buried, and I would have never gotten to read all of the tweets about Nick’s camo button down.

To find out the kinds of things people are saying about Nick, I used LDA (Latent Dirichlet Allocation) to pull out popular topics. Here are some of the more well-defined topics that came out of the analysis and a few tweets that summarize each topic:

Nick and Danielle M:

Danielle is an absolute angel. Nick doesn’t deserve her NO ONE DOES -@summer95
Danielle M is the not only the best but as my mom said brings out the best in Nick #TeamDanielleM #hopeforthisshow -@Feeeeeeney
Danielle is too good for Nick but can we please introduce her to LukePell  -@haleyrgeorge

Nick and the Boob Hold:

Nick held my boobs today LIKE HE HELD MY BOOBS. This girl is literally the reason I hate everyone -@edem_ily
Nick held my boobs today Like my BOOBS Great commentary Corrine -@BrittJayne28
Nick held my boobs today My BOOBS  -Corinne future CEO and successful business woman -@Swainsch

Nick’s Outfit:

911 yes hello Nick is wearing a camo button down -@monica_aldean
Oh man Forgot how much Nick likes to wear jeggings -@Uve_Been_Duped
Nick looks like a motor biker if all motor bikers were characters from Westside Story  -@NealLovesYou

Nick and Kissing:

Well were only 10 minutes into TheBachelor and Nick has already kissed 6 girls -@Sammy10101
Nick is kissing everyone tonight He would have kissed Chris Harrison if he was on right now -@rhlederer
Nick is bored with this though Hes like can we kiss or something -@paigeDav

Nick giving Corinne the group date rose:

I have been so Team Nick but giving Corrine the rose makes me think twice -@liz_lolol
Nick gave the date rose to Corinne. Is he trying to prove hes scummy? -@Kinabutterjelly
Nick whyy I stood up for you. WHYYYY HER #byecorrine -@CadieNGetz

Liz and Nick, the perfect drinking game to blackout:

Did Liz hook up with Nick at Jade and Tanner's wedding?  I can’t tell -@expecthexpectd
I'm taking a shot every time Liz mentions sleeping with Nick at the wedding #cirrhosis -@toni_nic0le
SHE MET NICK AT JADE AND TANNER'S WEDDING OMG HIW DO WE NOT KNOW THIS YET? -@charex07

General Nick Criticism:

The robots on westworld have more natural conversations than Nick & the women on #TheBachelor... -@seabass5555
Why are all these girls literally like 13 years younger than Nick -@whitmv_
Oh Nick pls try to act like you're looking for a wife and not your extra 15 minutes boy bye #ICant -@ CarolinaGirlToo

 

So all of this criticism brings up the point, would Luke have been better bachelor? There are a lot of people who think so:

If Liz had just given Nick her number all those months ago then LUKE could've been our rightful bachelor TheBachelor -@emilynrutt
Luke wouldn't have given the rose to Corinne -@ daniip13
Danielle and Luke would have been the cutest couple -@RachelJ614
I can't even watch the bachelor anymore -worst two episodes I’ve ever seen. Should have chosen Luke #trash -@lindseyytanner

I assumed that these people would be more focused in the south, but they are pretty spread out across the country with a huge hub in Texas. The below map shows the breakdown of tweets about Luke by state (retweets included).

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 8.34.45 PM.png

We’ll see if Nick wins over the naysayers in weeks to come.

A few of the women have won over the haters this week:

Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 8.54.35 PM.png

Raven, Taylor, and Christen have really come up in the sentiment rankings. Danielle M is still a fan favorite, Corinne and Liz are still very hated, and we didn’t see much of anyone else this week.

Just a note, the next two episodes will have a combined analysis because I’ll be out of the country next week, hopefully I don’t miss the chance to watch The Most Dramatic Episode Ever live, but with the Liz drama probably wrapping up this week I think I’m safe.

 

Leave a Reply

